The Ferris Bueller Project

This was the project I completed for my Digital Media Software & Systems class which was my first experience with Graphic Design and using Photoshop for creative design initiatives.

The overall aim of the module was to create a design campaign for a single product such as an album, movie, television show or band. I chose one of my favourite movies, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

I had to look at the original design campaign of the film from the 80’s:

I then did some research into what other people had done when creating their own designs based on the movie.

In my intial exploration in creating a design campaign for the film, I took screenshots from my favourite scenes in the film and applied my own design to them in a way that they could be exported to different media such as posters, DVDs, t-shirts etc;

My final design campaign was based off the primary colours used in the original design for the movie: red, white and black. I took some of the most notable concepts from the movie and applied them to the design in a way that higlighted the significance of it being a cult classic.

Below are the final concepts for my design.

The media I chose to adapt my designs to were a poster. a t-shirt and a mug.

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off is one of my all time favourite films and working on creating my own design campaign for the film is one of the most enjoyable aspects of my college course to date!

Leave a Reply

